Open Project Properties window.
Select PICkit 3 under Categories.
Select Program Options from the Options Categories combo box
Check box if you want to automatically erase all memory before programming.
Unless programming new or already erased devices, it is important to have this box checked. If not checked, the device is not erased and program code will be merged with the code already in the device.
Not available on all devices.